Dukes of the Orient zal op 7 augustus 2020 hun langverwachte tweede album uitbrengen. Het tweede album heeft als titel Freakshow en is de opvolger van het titelloze debuutalbum.

Dukes of the Orient is een samenwerking tussen zanger John Payne (ex-ASIA, GPS) met toetsenist Erik Norlander (Last in Line, Lana Lane, Rocket Scientists). Dukes of the Orient is ontstaan uit de groep ASIA featuring John Payne, een band die doorging nadat Asia-toetsenist Geoff Downes de band verliet om de oorspronkelijke line-up van 1982 opnieuw te vormen. Payne rekruteerde Norlander om zich bij de band aan te sluiten voor tourdata in de VS en daar begon hun partnerschap. Uiteindelijk kwam Asia featuring John Payne op de proppen met het nummer Seasons Will Change, dat in 2013 als video werd uitgebracht en dat uiteindelijk zijn weg vond naar het Dukes of the Orient-debuutalbum.

Na de dood van John Wetton, begin 2017, besloten Payne en Norlander dat deze opnames waaraan ze hadden gewerkt voor ASIA featuring John Payne met een nieuwe band zouden moeten uitbrengen, zowel uit respect voor Wetton als onderscheid met Downes Asia.

Commentaar van John Payne: “Working on the second Dukes of the Orient album has been a very cathartic experience. The addition of Alex Garcia, guitar, and Frank Klepacki, drums, was a very positive move for a more signature, cohesive sound. As with the previous album, we continue our rich analog keyboard approach layered with guitars by myself and Alex. Mixed and recorded on a traditional board with vintage outboard, we wanted to create an echo to the past and write songs with strong melodic content.”

Commentaar van Erik Norlander: “Freakshow is much more focused both in concept and in sound as it was written and recorded in a single year with a tight group of musicians. Our debut album came out fantastic, but it was recorded over a period of 10 years with many different contributing musicians, and in many ways, it sounds like that. Freakshow has the cohesiveness of vision where the same five musicians performed all the material that was written expressly for this album. I also think our writing on this album is more focused for the same reasons. After working together for so many years, I can write a vocal melody for John, he can write a keyboard part for me, and the parts just work right out of the gate.”

Onder dit artikel vind je de video van het nummer The Monitors.

The Dukes Return
The Ice Is Thin
The Monitors
Man Of Machine
The Last Time Traveller
A Quest For Knowledge
The Great Brass Steam Engine
When Ravens Cry
Until Then

John Payne: zang, gitaar, basgitaar
Erik Norlander: toetsen
Frank Klepacki: drums
Alex Garcia: gitaar
Eric Tewalt: saxofoon

Website: https://dukesoftheorient.net/